Tags

, , , , ,

Written by 1 of the messengerS on November 21, 2016 with an irony as always.

[We apologize in advance if you find any offensive insinuations. Our purpose is to bring people together & not divide them by being this or that. Even Donald Trump said that “Now it’s time for America to bind the wounds of division; have to get together. To all Republicans and Democrats and independents across this nation, I say it is time for us to come together as one united people. It’s time. I pledge to every citizen of our land that I will be president for all Americans, and this is so important to me. For those who have chosen not to support me in the past, of which there were a few people. . .. . . I’m reaching out to you for your guidance and your help so that we can work together and unify our great country.”  We couldn’t say it better.

Well, obviously we couldn’t, it was just slip of the keyboard. & that “even” before Mr. Trump’s name was also inappropriate based on those wonderful words, which he spoke after he won the election. Just read it again, so spiritual & revolutionary: “get together”! “united people”! “It’s time”! “your guidance”! “unify”! I know there’s a freedom of speech in USA, but I’m not sure if there’s also a tradition that requires to mean what you say. Anyway we try to mean it, we discriminate no one, even if you are rich, you are welcome to our block…or blog… (Yes, i need to start to get rid of those “evens” before i say something to sound funnier; may be it does sound funnier, but not so even.)]

cristiano-ronaldo

 

It’s kind of sad that plain altercation between famous people becomes world news & gets attention of millions, while much worse fights or even moral arguments between ordinary people for example in my town remain obscure for centuries. Seriously, if I’d got penny for every slur & insult which was verbalized just on my block for only few days, today I could say the same punchline, which said Cristiano Ronaldo yesterday to his attacker: “Yes, I’m a faggot, but faggot with a lot of money!” (http://www.sport-english.com/en/news/real-madrid/cristiano-ronaldo-yes-faggot-but-very-rich-one-5641409).

…       …       …     ….    ….    …..   ….

Sorry for a pause, it’s just that I’m not always thinking before I say something, which is why i’m such an ardent supporter of a 1st amendment. I meant of course the 2nd part of his sentence, after the “but” part. Not that something is wrong with the 1st part. Just not my thing. Well, the 2nd part is not my thing either. I’m not sure if there’s a correlation, but watching my street philosophy debates, I’ve learnt that if enough people think that there’s a correlation, then they don’t need any more scientific evidence to keep their opinion valid & applied.They even invented a word for it: “post-truth” & selected that word to represent this year. Again I could have not but think about my neighborhood, which since its foundation was living by its principles.

So, according to the rumors what happen is that 1 football player, which is going by the name of Koke accused Ronaldo of being homosexual. As I know from my little street, the angry, pre-fight verbal insults often have little to do with the reality; I could give plenty of examples, but i don’t want to rate my blog 18+ or even 21+, or in certain cases even much older restrictions must be applied. As long as I understand Koke’s point was (BTW his nickname adds another ironic aspect to the whole situation), that being gay is something (I don’t want to speculate too much, let’s say “not manly”, considering the context of a sport game), “bad, embarrassing”. But Ronaldo, unlike many of my street fighters took it literally & responded literally that despite being a gay, which is bad to Koke’s opinion; he (Ronaldo, although probably Koke too) has tons of money, which is good to Ronaldo’s opinion.

If I wasn’t clear till now, let me repeat again: I’m not interested in Ronaldo sexuality, neither I’m interested in the subject of sexual orientation. Also I’m not interested today in the issue of poor against the rich politics & obsession with possessions in general in recent trillion years. Today I’m interested only in the principle of this powerful argument: “Yes, I’m may be a X, but I have a lot of Y.” Honestly, it has nothing to do with the legendary & sexy Ronaldo…. I meant, the guy is very very good football player (Sorry Americans, not soccer, since your FOOTball players carry the ball with their HANDs). I’m just using this opportunity as a reminder of this powerful socio- logical reasoning: “Despite being an X, by being/ having Y, I improve my social status.

Which reminds me of possible altercations in 1920s Soviet Union: “I’m may be gay, but at least I come from poor family of poor peasants”, “I’m may be short, but at least I work as a dishwasher & not some fu%ing businessman!” or in 1920s BC somewhere in South Europe: “I’m may be a bad gymnast, but at least I’m gay!” or probably somewhere in the Middle Ages: “I may be weak, but at least I have no money at all!” & I could go like this for the whole day if I knew history or had 48 hours in each day for my research. Yes, I’m may be a very bad historian, but my point is that who knows what’s bad (& gay revolution is such a good example of something that culturally went from something that so…”not manly” & “bad” to something that in certain places is so good…, I mean popular & common & even required) & what’s good (of course having tons of money very often was, is & will be considered as a very very good thing, & I’m not saying it’s not; I’m just saying that who knows, that may be in some future sport altercations, future “Ronaldo” will say: “May be I’m that, who you think I am, but at least I’m trying to be friendly & peaceful, kind & compassionate, in short, I’m trying to be a good person & hate no one, including the haters.

Of course I’m talking about very distant future, because for now even my small street is full of people who know for sure what’s right & wrong, what’s bad & good, what a normal person should say, look & how that person should behave & think. I don’t know what happens on your street, but if I had the money for the ticket, I’d be very curious to find out. Anyway, sorry for too much brackets, what I mean is that I have a Dream! …

Due to the copyright issues I mean that my vision is simple: Let’s stop the Judgment Days, let’s not just fit in to what is cool & prestigious today on our street, considering everybody else as losers, outcasts, freaks, weirdos & crazy. Who knows may be in very short time those geeks, greens & gays will become a norm (I know it’s a norm already, but when I started to write this sentence it wasn’t). It just looks funny, kind of ridiculous, when you are deriding and making fun of those who “are not cool”. (Someone is saying that it’s exactly what I’m doing here, making fun of those who are making fun of other those, therefore I want to emphasize once again: Satire is not necessarily mean or disrespecting & self-irony is the proof of that, nobody is perfect; humor helps to improve that, satire sheds light on places, which we even didn’t know existed.)

I mean there’s no judgment, feel free to be funny & ridiculous, but the problem with hypocrisy is that it’s basically a lie, just a hidden one, & lie is something that is not true & when we say that we try to be sincere, true to ourselves, honest, etc., while at the same time being judgmental & hypocritical, then we ourselves create our inner & outer conflicts & again that gay thing is such a wonderful example of all those men who are hiding their whole lives in their closets, while outwards mocking feminine or gay men. I understand that they felt pressure by society, therefore i see solution only when the whole society drops its categorizing to good or bad things: is it bad to be gay? is it good to be rich? I know, we are so used to typecasting, stereotyping & ranking that is seems not normal being neutral, accepting & inclusive.

Therefore i think it’s ok, keep judging for now; freedom of speech & thought is too important, even when it’s biased, but at least let’s Judge other people, but let’s not “put them in prison right away”, I mean let’s not hate them just because they are different, & I mean for real not hate them, not just say “I hate no one”, but your behavior proves you wrong. And again, gay’s fate is a very good example, since certain people in the past & even in the present literally kill certain people JUST because they are gay! (I mean those who were killed, but now when i think of the closet, may be it was also the other way around). Is it a JUST cause? Most of us agree that it’s not, but what about bullying? Probably also not a good one. But what about bullying in general? Of ANYone? What about humiliating, threatening, ridiculing, jeering, etc. those, who we just don’t like or those who are weak to defend themselves, even if they are “a Man”?

You think it’s an utopia? You think it’s impossible that most of people would choose to be just, fair, honest, kind, friendly & humane? Then ask gay men if they knew in 1970s that in 2015 (USA) they could marry one another? (& in Europe even earlier?)(& if they did know, then let’s find some another impossible thing, which became reality; as I said I don’t know history well enough, but I know that change is the only thing that doesn’t change.(Heraclitus, 5th century BC). The question is What kind of Change do we ALL want to see?